Most people don’t like paying taxes, and reading about taxes has to be up there on the list with having your teeth drilled. Not so for the readers of Mark Goodfield’s blog, The Blunt Bean Counter.

Mark shares his expertise on tax and financial matters in a clear, often humorous, and – yes – blunt way. That is what has made his blog popular for the past five years.

Let’s Get Blunt About Your Financial Affairs is a compilation of many of the best posts from the blog.

Blunt Bean Counter

Mark has been a Chartered Professional Accountant for over 25 years. His knowledge of the Income Tax Act, combined with practical insight from dealing with his many clients, allows him to simplify a complex topic so his readers can understand and apply the concepts to their own situations.

Mark’s humour comes through in his chapter headings.

e.g.   Inheritances, Wills and Estates – Love, Money and Greed.

One Big Happy Family – Until We Discuss the Will.

Peruse through the contents – organized by topic – and you’ll find there’s something for everyone.

Chapters on income tax include:

  • How long do I have to keep my income tax records?
  • Tax –Loss selling
  • Income tax implications of purchasing a rental property

People who are boomer-age or older will welcome the advice on estate planning such as:

  • Transferring the family cottage.
  • Probate fee planning – Income Tax, Estate and Legal issues to consider
  • Family Assets – Dividing, Sharing & Taxing

For business owners and potential entrepreneurs there’s a whole section devoted to personal, technical, and tax advice.

Final Thoughts

If you have ever found yourself mindlessly wandering through the labyrinth of pages in the CRA website, you’ll appreciate Mark Goodfield’s extensive tax knowledge and financial advice written in an clear, easy to read and humorous style that’s applicable to many common, real-life situations. This makes a really good reference book.

I give it two thumbs up!

Time for a giveaway!

You can purchase a copy of Let’s Get Blunt About Your Financial Affairs on Amazon.

Mark has also generously sponsored three copies of his book to give away to our readers, so just leave a comment below and you’ll be entered to win. The contest will close on Friday September 18th at 5:00pm MST, and we’ll announce the winners in the next edition of Weekend Reading.

Good luck!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

127 Comments

  1. Tom on September 15, 2015 at 2:58 pm

    I NEED a copy of this book. There…Is that blunt enough?

  2. Tim on September 15, 2015 at 3:10 pm

    Big fan of his blog (and B&E obviously)! Hope I win 😀

  3. Pierre on September 15, 2015 at 3:51 pm

    I read your blog all the time. Thanks for the link to the Blunt Bean Counter.

  4. Lyne Brosseau on September 15, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    I would love a copy! Thanks for the review 🙂

  5. keisha Nappier on September 15, 2015 at 4:06 pm

    I can not wait to read this book. 🙂

  6. Qui on September 15, 2015 at 4:38 pm

    I love both your blog and Mark’s blog. I’ve been a long term fan and would love a copy of that book.

  7. kinsi on September 15, 2015 at 6:03 pm

    I love reading this blog. Hope to win the book.

  8. Ward on September 15, 2015 at 9:29 pm

    Thanks for the great reading suggestions and financial tips. Keep up the really good work.

  9. Jason on September 15, 2015 at 10:50 pm

    Looks like a good read, would love to win a copy! Keep up the recommendations b&e!

  10. igra on September 15, 2015 at 11:31 pm

    Looks like a great book to read!

  11. TC on September 16, 2015 at 12:38 am

    This looks like a great book!

  12. Ian on September 16, 2015 at 4:11 am

    Keep up the good work, B n E. Boomers love giveaways

  13. Mary on September 16, 2015 at 4:19 am

    I am currently estate planning and would love a copy of this book.

  14. Alex Bergsma on September 16, 2015 at 4:46 am

    RE: e.g. Inheritances, Wills and Estates – Love, Money and Greed.

    One Big Happy Family – Until We Discuss the Will.

    I am living this now. Would be interesting to read this chapter

  15. Grant on September 16, 2015 at 4:57 am

    Amazing how the number of comments sky rockets when there’s a give away! I’ve learnt a lot from Mark’s and your blog.

  16. Michael B on September 16, 2015 at 5:05 am

    Really appreciate the links you give us, Blunt sounds like a must HAVE (as opposed to WANT!)

  17. Nicole on September 16, 2015 at 5:05 am

    This sounds like a really good read! That makes me sound boring right?

  18. Jesse on September 16, 2015 at 5:07 am

    I think I need this book, good review, thanks.

  19. Frank on September 16, 2015 at 5:07 am

    The book sounds like it’s worth the read.

  20. Bryan on September 16, 2015 at 5:08 am

    Thanks once again for the opportunity for a free give-away, from a loyal reader.

  21. Alison on September 16, 2015 at 5:22 am

    Sounds like a great book that makes tax issues easier to understand. Very valuable! While many of us may not comment often, we are loyal readers.

  22. Laura on September 16, 2015 at 5:26 am

    Love it when authors can make meaning and create interest in what some would consider a dry topic. Would love to win a copy!

  23. Tracey H on September 16, 2015 at 5:32 am

    I’m looking forward to reading this book (whether I win or not). I have a hard time keeping focused when I read about tax laws so this sounds like the right book for me.

  24. Debbie M on September 16, 2015 at 5:41 am

    I’ve been reading his blog for quite some time now. Love it!

  25. Dennis on September 16, 2015 at 5:44 am

    I’d love to have a copy. Always open to new tax information particularly where it applies to the Boomer generation.

  26. heather on September 16, 2015 at 6:02 am

    Something I need to read

  27. Cindy on September 16, 2015 at 6:06 am

    Looks like a good new Canadian finance book. If be interested in reading it.

  28. Stuart Annis on September 16, 2015 at 6:08 am

    This book would help One Big Happy Family.

  29. Julie on September 16, 2015 at 6:08 am

    This sounds like a must-read for me and my family. We’re keen on personal finance education and would love to score a copy of this book!

  30. Jason St-Hilaire on September 16, 2015 at 6:18 am

    Looks like an interesting book, especially the part about income tax.

  31. Jill Gray on September 16, 2015 at 6:21 am

    Yes, I need tax advice!!

  32. Nancy on September 16, 2015 at 6:21 am

    I find the bean counter’s blogs very informative, and his vacation photos allow me to travel vicariously through him. Please enter my name in the draw!

  33. Marilyn on September 16, 2015 at 6:23 am

    Tax AND humour? I must read this! 🙂 Thanks for another great giveaway!

  34. Dennis Seebach on September 16, 2015 at 6:35 am

    Great post and a good read!

  35. Russ on September 16, 2015 at 6:36 am

    Always looking for good personal finance resources.

  36. Doug on September 16, 2015 at 6:39 am

    Could really use a copy. If only the BBC could tell us which political party would steal the least amount of money from our pockets and not frivolously waste this election.

  37. Rod on September 16, 2015 at 6:49 am

    This will also be mandatory reading for all of the now adult kids.

  38. William Stewart on September 16, 2015 at 6:51 am

    I’m sitting in the south of France for the rest of the month so would like to read this when I get back.

  39. Daftster on September 16, 2015 at 6:58 am

    i want one 🙂

  40. Mike on September 16, 2015 at 6:59 am

    I could really use his book. Thanks for the review and giveaway.

  41. Kim on September 16, 2015 at 7:05 am

    Great giveaway! Thanks for the chance!

  42. Shawna on September 16, 2015 at 7:08 am

    Sounds like a great book!

  43. Sylvia on September 16, 2015 at 7:14 am

    Ah yes – what to do with the cottage. I too need this book.

  44. Gina on September 16, 2015 at 7:17 am

    Now that book has definately piqued my interest! Also thanks for referring another useful blog,going to check it out right now.

  45. Sharon C on September 16, 2015 at 7:19 am

    Oh please, I really need this right now.

  46. Lynn Travers on September 16, 2015 at 7:22 am

    Sounds like a great resource for my library. Thank you, Lynn

  47. Rob C on September 16, 2015 at 7:23 am

    I think this book sounds worth a read. Certainly an area of interest and need.

  48. Envy Emm on September 16, 2015 at 7:28 am

    I’m also a CPA – but to put it “bluntly”, Ineed this advice as much as anyone!

  49. Lori on September 16, 2015 at 7:37 am

    Would love to win a copy of the book. Thanks for all the great info that you post.

  50. Ralph on September 16, 2015 at 7:48 am

    Sounds like an interesting read

  51. Lynn on September 16, 2015 at 7:50 am

    I definitely need this book – PLEASE!!

  52. Marvin on September 16, 2015 at 7:52 am

    Thanks for the opportunity. Seems like a fun read.

  53. Leanne B on September 16, 2015 at 7:53 am

    This book sounds like a good read!

  54. Josie on September 16, 2015 at 7:54 am

    Would sure love a copy. I’m a big fan of your (B&E) website/blogs, and read/refer to all topics, especially retirement advice.
    Thanks for sharing your knowledge and advice.

  55. Luis Bermudez on September 16, 2015 at 7:58 am

    Thanks for the chance to get one copy of this interesting book !

  56. Channy on September 16, 2015 at 8:08 am

    Thanks for the suggestion and link to Mark’s blog. =)

  57. Sarah Pearson on September 16, 2015 at 8:12 am

    I would love to win a copy of this book!

  58. Nancy S. on September 16, 2015 at 8:15 am

    Sounds like an interesting read on a “boring” subject! Would love to win a copy.

  59. sylvia on September 16, 2015 at 8:24 am

    would greatly appreciate another reference book!

  60. Mario on September 16, 2015 at 8:43 am

    Always looking forward to read your blog.

    Mario

  61. Robin Y on September 16, 2015 at 8:52 am

    I read your balanced blog every time it comes out. We are poor and entering into our “golden years” which are likely to be our “tin-plated Kraft Dinner with Alpo Years” after a lifetime of financial roller coasters, marital upsets and raising seven kids between us. Our financial situation is tenuous at best. This book might help.

  62. Dennis on September 16, 2015 at 8:55 am

    Adding humour to bland financial affairs is a welcomed twist.

  63. Deen on September 16, 2015 at 8:55 am

    Taxes!!! and how to navigate the “sometimes” confusing concepts, definitely something to learn more about. Good review.

  64. Patricia on September 16, 2015 at 9:15 am

    Would love to read this book of particular interest is the estate planning information. Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy.

  65. the blunt bean counter on September 16, 2015 at 9:15 am

    Marie,

    Thx for your kind words and the support you and Robb have provided over the years.

  66. Harold on September 16, 2015 at 9:17 am

    Sounds like a great resource! Thanks

  67. Mark McCormick on September 16, 2015 at 9:18 am

    This book looks like an interesting read and would be a welcome addition to my library.

  68. Ginette on September 16, 2015 at 9:27 am

    Taxes need all the humour one can inject, I will rise to the challenge!

  69. Phyllis on September 16, 2015 at 9:37 am

    I hope I win!!!!

  70. Ashvin Karvat on September 16, 2015 at 10:02 am

    sounds like an interesting book….and would love a free one…!

  71. Donna on September 16, 2015 at 10:13 am

    I am the “go to person” for taxes in my family. This book would a great reference.,,,

  72. Renate on September 16, 2015 at 10:20 am

    love his blog!

  73. Alice on September 16, 2015 at 10:35 am

    Mark’s blog rocks! I’d love to read the tax info in his book.

  74. Cindy on September 16, 2015 at 10:45 am

    Blunt, humour and informative? I’d love to read it! Thanks.

  75. Gene Moscicki on September 16, 2015 at 10:46 am

    One of my favourite financial blogs!

  76. Crystal on September 16, 2015 at 10:48 am

    I will read this book. Thanks

  77. Karen Yapp on September 16, 2015 at 11:06 am

    I love to read a book about financial matters that is interesting, reader friendly and practical. Please may I have one of these books ? Thanks !

  78. June Hanson on September 16, 2015 at 11:12 am

    I would love to have a copy . I teach personal and corporate income tax and am always looking for new books to recomend.

  79. Ronda T on September 16, 2015 at 11:48 am

    I need all the help I can get, being a baby boomer living on a disability pension is a scary position. I would really appreciate a book that can assist me in a clear and understandable way.

  80. Laurine Day on September 16, 2015 at 12:06 pm

    Always looking for financial wisdom….

  81. Cindi on September 16, 2015 at 12:38 pm

    Work smarter, NOT harder! Love learning tips & bits.

  82. Cindy P on September 16, 2015 at 1:04 pm

    Would love to win this book. Always looking for good information 🙂

  83. Maria on September 16, 2015 at 1:33 pm

    If the book is anything like his blog, it will be very interesting. I’m in to have a chance at winning!

  84. al on September 16, 2015 at 2:21 pm

    Looks like a useful blog … feel like a winner already,

  85. ffsquared on September 16, 2015 at 2:39 pm

    Always pleased to learn how to reduce my taxes.

  86. HPat on September 16, 2015 at 2:56 pm

    A book on reducing taxes … count me interested!

  87. Robert on September 16, 2015 at 3:32 pm

    We need to learn more about estate planning…as we continue our learning journey!

  88. Andy D on September 16, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    Nothing clever or witty except I need good tax advice
    Thanks

  89. Benjamin on September 16, 2015 at 4:56 pm

    Sounds like a good book!

  90. Virginia Buck on September 16, 2015 at 4:59 pm

    Someone certainly needs to get blunt about my financial affairs and I guess I am the best (only) choice around. Need some help from this book.

  91. Is it a need or a want? on September 16, 2015 at 5:22 pm

    Would like yo read about sharing inheritances:)

  92. Mike on September 16, 2015 at 5:35 pm

    Good review of the book. It is certainly an eye-opener for a lot of people!

  93. Susan on September 16, 2015 at 5:42 pm

    This books would be useful. Thanks for the chance.

  94. John Neale on September 16, 2015 at 5:55 pm

    Sounds like this book will be very useful. Would like to win it

  95. Be'en on September 16, 2015 at 6:22 pm

    Yes please, count me in for the give-away..

  96. Joanne on September 16, 2015 at 6:35 pm

    Me please

  97. steve on September 16, 2015 at 6:37 pm

    Please count me in…I am looking for good info on how to plan my withdrawals to minimize taxes…

  98. Diane on September 16, 2015 at 6:49 pm

    Taxes simplified…that sounds like the book for me!

  99. Alan H Rae on September 16, 2015 at 7:56 pm

    Mark is the only accountant I know who can make accounting, taxes, wills and inheritances sound like they are interesting and even fun subjects.

    Keep up the good work Mark you are encouraging more people to investigate or at least think about these subjects.

  100. Byron on September 16, 2015 at 10:14 pm

    It can’t hurt to enter. I love your blog! Or to suck up!

  101. Erin D on September 17, 2015 at 12:49 am

    Sounds like a book I would really enjoy reading. Please enter my name in the contest.

  102. Lynda on September 17, 2015 at 1:21 am

    Time for a good read!

  103. Raphaelle on September 17, 2015 at 4:27 am

    Sounds like an interesting book !

  104. Juha on September 17, 2015 at 6:07 am

    Older boomer sure could use this book

  105. Gary on September 17, 2015 at 6:13 am

    Mark; you have a new follower. If I don’t win a copy I’ll definitely purchase one.

  106. Laurie on September 17, 2015 at 6:19 am

    Another great reading suggestion from B&E. A bit of levity makes tough topics like taxes easier to work with.

  107. DN on September 17, 2015 at 9:21 am

    Pick me plz 🙂

  108. Kim Harvey on September 17, 2015 at 9:23 am

    I would love to get in the draw for the book.
    This is an awesome blog, and I am sure the book is the same.
    Thanks.

  109. Ashley on September 17, 2015 at 9:27 am

    Me too!

  110. Raymond on September 17, 2015 at 10:32 am

    I would really like to win a copy of this book. *fingers crossed*

  111. Steve B. on September 17, 2015 at 10:35 am

    Many thanks for all the financial help and great reading suggestions.

  112. Mark D. on September 17, 2015 at 10:54 am

    Anything to get my wife to read about death and taxes I ‘m game for. Does first name have an edge? Count me in!

  113. Rob on September 17, 2015 at 12:57 pm

    I’m always looking for a new read! Would love a copy.

  114. Ronnie on September 17, 2015 at 2:53 pm

    Sounds interesting for a boring topic.

  115. Elizabeth on September 17, 2015 at 6:22 pm

    Would love to win a copy, but glad to be introduced to the blog too! Thanks 🙂

  116. Sandra on September 17, 2015 at 6:24 pm

    Sounds very interesting!

  117. Diane on September 17, 2015 at 7:53 pm

    I am currently responsible for doing the taxes for my mother, mother-in-law, son, husband and myself. This covers most age groups. I could really use the help. Winning the book would be a big bonus.

  118. Nick Swirski on September 18, 2015 at 9:46 am

    I need this now!

  119. Wayne on September 18, 2015 at 10:09 am

    Look forward to reading this book – sounds very useful. Donna

  120. Wayne Kells on September 18, 2015 at 12:20 pm

    Surely a MUST read and I need it more than most! Ha

  121. Northmoon on September 18, 2015 at 12:30 pm

    Sounds like a good reference book for a complicated subject.

  122. Michael on September 18, 2015 at 3:20 pm

    taxes taxes taxes! Death and Taxes, can’t get away from either 🙂

  123. Sidd Carin on September 19, 2015 at 9:05 am

    Would love a copy of this book! Thanks for the chance!

  124. Bruce on September 19, 2015 at 9:12 pm

    Need it badly!

  125. Margot on September 20, 2015 at 9:47 am

    Any idea where else this book can be purchased in Toronto? Sold out on amazon or not available.

Leave a Comment